Home Sale Inspections During COVID

Smoke Detector Regulations


The State of Massachusetts, under Massachusetts General Law chapter 148 section 26F and 26F 1/2 mandates upon the sale or transfer of certain homes the seller must install approved smoke detectors.

Certificates of compliance must be obtained from Ashland Fire prior to closing. Review the Home Sale Inspection Regulations (PDF) effective January 1, 2015 for more information.

Scheduling an Inspection


Scheduling must be done over the phone during normal business hours on any day of the week. A $50 check or money order, made out to the Town of Ashland, is required to be left at the property prior to the inspection date.

Inspections will be scheduled Monday through Thursday 9a-11a. A specific time cannot be given due to emergencies and other events, the inspector can arrive at any time between the hours above on the day of the scheduled inspection. A responsible party must be present at the time of inspection, but no one is to be in the house during the inspection.

Inspections are good for 60 days, please schedule your inspection well ahead of your closing as days can become booked with inspections or inspections can be canceled due to emergencies.

Failed Inspections


If you fail the inspection you must reschedule in the same manner as above and there is a re inspection fee of $25.