Smoke Detector Regulations
The State of Massachusetts, under Massachusetts General Law chapter 148 section 26F and 26F 1/2 mandates upon the sale or transfer of certain homes the seller must install approved smoke detectors.
Certificates of compliance must be obtained from Ashland Fire prior to closing. Review the Home Sale Inspection Regulations (PDF)
effective January 1, 2015 for more information.
Scheduling an Inspection
Scheduling may be done by calling 508-881-2323 or in person at Ashland Fire Station 2, located at 70 Cedar Street, during normal business hours on any day of the week. A $50 check or money order, made out to the Town of Ashland, is required at the time of the inspection.
Inspections will be scheduled for Monday through Thursday 9a-11a. A responsible party must be present at the time of inspection, a specific time cannot be given due to emergencies and other events, the inspector can arrive at any time between the hours above on the day of the scheduled inspection.
Inspections are good for 60 days, please schedule your inspection well ahead of your closing as days can become booked with inspections or inspections can be canceled due to emergencies.
If you fail the inspection you must reschedule in person and there is a re inspection fee of $25.